top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePhi Mu Kappa Sigma

Sisterhood: What it means to me

Although sorority life is widely known as a sisterhood, phi mu has been much more than a sisterhood to me. As I go into my senior year here at JSU I have found myself getting super emotional about all of the lasts! My last semester of college, my last TMB lunch date, my last football game as a student, my last study sesh in the library, however, the hardest thing to let go of by far has been phi mu! My “lasts” in phi mu have already started and it has not been easy!

This is such a hard part of my life to leave because phi mu has helped shape me into who I am, but also who i’ve been able to become. I definitely cannot go without giving credit to my sisters who have made this sisterhood experience something i’ll never forget. I’ve made lifetime memories that I cannot wait to tell my daughter one day!!


I’ve been asked on several occasions to name my favorite sisterhood memory throughout my 3 years as a phi mu. I can never ever come up with just ONE… The amount of times we’ve laughed until we’ve cried cannot be kept up with. Coming to college and gaining 80 plus sisters is not always something you think of and think “this will be fun” BUT let me tell you, I wouldn’t trade it for the world!! I can genuinely count on these girls to have my back time and time again. I have met my very best friends through phi mu! I have grown as a phi mu lady in so many ways but most importantly as a more confident woman!

I have been encouraged by my sisters to be myself and to believe in myself! They give me a confidence that I didn’t even know I was missing before my college days!! I’ve never felt more myself around a group of people than I do with these girls!


Every girl brings their own presence to phi mu! So many special gifts are brought together by each individual to make phi mu so empowering! This is something I love so much about this sisterhood! Every girl's strengths come together to make phi mu what it is! I have met some of the strongest girls I’ll ever meet because of phi mu! I have met role models through phi mu and women I aspire to be like everyday through this sisterhood!

They have taught me my strengths while also helping me fight through my weaknesses! This is why phi mu is so much more than a sisterhood to me!


I am thankful EVERYDAY for phi mu and the woman it has made me! I’m also thankful that God led me to phi mu and allowed me to call phi mu my home over 3 years ago but i’m most thankful to STILL call phi mu my home today!!!




love, a very sad & thankful senior.

- Reagan Dooley, PC '18

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page