top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePhi Mu Kappa Sigma

Leading Ladies: Meet our Exec


Helloo! My name is Avery-Anna, I am from Moody, Al and I pledged Phi Mu in Fall of 2018. My major is Secondary Education. I love all things fun, road trips, taking pictures, and a good comfort colors tshirt.

I am stoked to serve this chapter as New Member Educator- aka Phi Director. This position gives me the opportunity to pour everything our new members need to know about Phi Mu into them in their first few weeks as phi's. This role is so important to me because the first few weeks of college life and greek life are stressful & confusing; and I get to help each of our new sisters navigate their new home and prepare to enter the sweet bond of Phi Mu!

My advice to any new college student — Whatever you choose to do in college, pursue it wholeheartedly. Whether you've chosen greek life, SGA, or something else- you get out what you put in, so make your college years count. You only get a limited amount of time here, and it flies by quicker than you realize. Go to everything. Take chances. Make as many friends as you can. Stay up all night for a sunrise, and don't waste a single opportunity. These are the years you'll tell your kids about one day, so never let there be a dull moment!


 

Hey everyone! My name is Serah Elizabeth Blackwell and I pledged Phi Mu in Fall 2018. I’m from Boaz, Alabama and I’m majoring in psychology. I love traveling, reading, and spending time with my friends and family! I have the pleasure of serving Phi Mu as secretary. Being secretary means that I take roll at all events and basically keep up with everyone in the chapter! I have absolutely loved my last 3 years as a Phi Mu, and I’m not ready to see it end.


My advice to incoming freshman: do everything! Go Greek, join all the clubs you can, go to all the events, and enjoy every minute! JSU has so many amazing opportunities to offer, so take advantage of as many as possible. Joining Greek life is one of the best ways to meet new people and get involved. The memories you’ll make will be with you forever!



 

Hey everyone! My name is Lauren Watson and I ran home to Phi Mu in Spring of 2019! I serve as the Membership Director for Phi Mu at JSU! This role includes getting our chapter together for workshops, retreats, and any other events that can help us better prepare to welcome home PC '21 to the best!! If you’re an incoming freshman, you may have seen me this summer on stage while serving as a Gamecock Orientation Leader!! That was the highlight of my summer and I enjoyed every minute of it!!


A little about me-- I’m a senior this year from Arab, Alabama. I am in nursing school currently so you will probably see me in the library 90% of the time, but when i do have free time you can catch me watching youtube, playing with my golden doodle, or spending too much money on amazon :)


My advice for anyone reading this is to make the tough decision and do things you’re not comfortable with. You never know what opportunities may come your way and college is full of them. Since coming to JSU, i’ve done all I can to take advantage of all JSU has to offer and through that I have gotten to be apart of Freshman Forum, the Honors Program, and even be crowned Homecoming Queen! All of this wouldn’t have been possible if I didn’t step out of my comfort zone and do something new! You’ll never know what opportunities are waiting for you!


 

Helllooooooo!! My name is Mardasia Thompson, and I ran out to Phi Mu in Fall of 2019. I serve as the Director of Harm Reduction and Prevention & Social Director. I am a senior from Huntsville, Alabama, majoring in Forensic Investigation & Cell and Molecular Biology. I have plans of getting my masters in Criminal Justice at Jacksonville State in a few semesters. I spend LOTS of my past time taking naps :)

Being DHRP & Social chair has given me the opportunity to plan fun and worthwhile events for each one of my sorority sisters while making sure every event is done safely. My role in Phi Mu takes a lot of thought, but it is worth every minute.


My advice for being a student at JSU is to not only get involved in something you truly care about BUT give it your all. College may seem like it will last forever but I ensure you that it will fly by. Take every opportunity you can, while you can. Step out of your comfort zone, lead with your heart, and don’t look back. Jacksonville State has hundreds of opportunities for you to get involved and become who you'd fought so hard to be.






 

Hello!!!! My name is Emma Bagby and I’m from Leeds, Alabama. I pledged Phi Mu in the Fall of 2019!! A few little things about me: I love iced coffee and any chance I get to share about Jesus!! I’m also a HUGE Disney girl so my favorite vacation spot is DEFINITELY Disney World! I am currently majoring in elementary education here at JSU and I will start the teacher education program this Fall!!!

In Phi Mu, I have the honor of serving as the Chapter Vice President! Aside from being Presley’s right-hand-gal, my job is also to lead our weekly chapter meetings and encourage our sisters through developmental programs. I am in charge of appointing our Committee Chairwomen each semester, as well! These incredible Chairwomen plan all the fun things we get to do throughout the semester. The reward that this role has given me is far greater than I could have ever imagined and I am so blessed to serve in this position!!!


My advice for the incoming freshman girl — always put yourself out there!!! Sit by someone new in class, make a new friend in the TMB! Right now, everyone is going to tell you to join every club you can and get involved… yes, you should get involved!!!! BUT you don’t have to join all those club to make friends. College might become stressful at times, you need those friends to stand by your side and help you get through it!!!! You got this girl and you have a whole organization full of women ready to have your back through thick and thin! Get ready for the best 4 years of your entire life!!!!


 

Hey!! My name is Sophie Hutchinson, and I have the honor of serving as the Panhellenic Delegate for our chapter. This means I represent our chapter at Panhellenic meetings, and encourage a positive relationship between us and the other organizations on campus. I keep our chapter informed on what is happening within the Panhellenic community and let our sisters know if other organizations are having events and urge them to attend. This role is so much fun because I’ve had the opportunity to meet and become friends with other sorority women.


A little about myself- I’m in pledge class '19 and I am from small town called Sylacauga, Alabama. I am a forensics investigations major and hope to be in the FBI some day (where’s my criminal minds fans at hahaha)! I love all things Jacksonville and I’m actually blessed to be an Ambassador for JSU. I also work at our REC center as a lifeguard! When I’m not busy with those things, I enjoy spending time with my friends and family, running (most of the time lol), and watching my favorite shows and movies.


My advice for incoming freshmen is to just be yourself and HAVE FUN! You will make so many memories this year and meet people that will be your friends forever. I highly encourage you to go through recruitment! It has been hands down one of the best decisions I have ever made. I came to Jacksonville knowing no one and now I am surrounded by the most genuine, selfless friends a girl could ask for. They push me to be the best version of myself and hold me accountable. They are the best advice givers and are always down to go get cookout (the best fast food EVER). Phi Mu brought the friends I prayed to find. Go greek and you’ll find your people too. This year will be one for the books, I promise! If you ever need anything or just want to be friends don’t hesitate to reach out! I am so excited for you!



 

Hello friends! My name is Madison Watson and I serve as our Philanthropy Director for Jacksonville State's chapter of Phi Mu. I’m from right here in Jacksonville, AL and am a Junior majoring in Elementary Education. I am from PC fall ‘19. When I’m not working at Chick-Fil-A or hanging out with my sisters, I enjoy reading, painting, and watching Netflix!


Being Phi Mu’s philanthropy director has opened my eyes to how special our philanthropy really is. This position is so rewarding to see all of our hard work come to fruition. Our philanthropy is Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals! Throughout the year, we have two big events, Dance Marathon and Golf Tournament, that give back to Children’s of Alabama in Birmingham. We are so blessed to have the opportunity to raise money for such a great organization that impacts so many families' lives.


To the future college kids -- one piece of advice I want to give y’all is to choose your future home not based off of where you feel comfortable. Rather, go where you know you will be challenged and held accountable!

 

Hey y'all! My name is Sydney Stanley and I am a junior here at JSU. I’m from Centre, Al. and my major is Exercise Science and Wellness. I love to spend time with family and friends, take naps, and go shopping.

My role on the Exec Council in Phi Mu is Honor Director. Honor is the process Phi Mu uses to encourage the integrity of our sisters! It is an accountability system where sisters advocate for each other, using Phi Mu values to back up the decisions they make. Honor is in place to ensure that our sisters are being the best women they can be, and achieving the academic success they deserve.


To the newest freshman class: step out of your comfort zone and find where you belong. Greek life is so rewarding. You will find your forever friends and support system. There are so many opportunities within greek life and you’ll make memories that will last a lifetime.


 

Hey!! My name is Macy Freeman and I ran home to Phi Mu in fall of 2019. I’m from Springville, Alabama and I am a senior in the Respiratory Therapy program. Even though I graduate in May, I will still be around Jacksonville the next year because I’m getting my Masters!! I work three different positions at our Rec center and I work at Gadsden Hospital. So when I’m not so busy with work or school, I love to spend time with friends & family, hang out with my dog, work out and watch my favorite shows!!

I have the honor of serving as chapter treasurer, so I handle all things money related. I do things like sending out chapter bills each month to making sure Children’s gets our philanthropy donations!! After spending time at Children’s because of RT clinicals and it being our philanthropy, I hope to work there after college as a Respiratory Therapist. This position has taught me so much about myself and my sisters!! My advice to the incoming freshmen is to take it all in, cause you truly get out of it what you put into it. There are so many opportunities within Phi Mu and JSU in general. The memories you make now will last a lifetime!!! I have had the best 3 years in this sisterhood! If you ever need anything or just want to be friends, don’t hesitate to reach out.







 

Hiiiii! My name is Presley Allen and I am the current President of the Phi Mu Kappa Sigma Chapter here at JSU. I’m from Rome, Georgia and I’m currently a senior in my third semester of Nursing school. I made the best decision ever when I pledged Phi Mu in fall of 2018.


A few things about me: I’m the oldest of seven kids, I love spending time with my friends and family, and spend most of my time in Phi Mu t-shirts.

Having served as President since January, my term is halfway over. I have learned and grown so much since I was elected and cannot wait to see how much more Phi Mu can grow. We just added THIRTY-THREE new girls to our chapter so I can only imagine how much more fun we all will have (woohoo!!!).


My advice to incoming freshmen and our new pledge class — soak every second up. These next few years will fly by faster than you could ever imagine. Make those connections. Have the most fun. Remember, you will never get this time back. Every opportunity you get, take it and run. Coming from a senior, use my advice wisely and as always, go cocks!






30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page